Thursday, 4 April 2019

Blog Tour || A Dangerous Act of Kindness by LP Fergusson - Book Review.* [AD | Gifted]

*I received this book in exchange for a review, all opinions are my own.


As a huge fan of historical fiction, I was very excited when I was asked to be part of the blog tour for A Dangerous Act of Kindness by LP Fergusson. Read on to find out what I made of the book!




Blurb


What would you risk for a complete stranger?

When widow Millie Sanger finds injured enemy pilot Lukas Schiller on her farm, the distant war is suddenly at her doorstep. Compassionate Millie knows he'll be killed if discovered, and makes the dangerous decision to offer him shelter from the storm.

On opposite sides of the inescapable conflict, the two strangers forge an unexpected and passionate bond. But as the snow thaws, the relentless fury of World War Two forces them apart, leaving only the haunting memories of what they shared, and an understanding that their secret must never see light.

As Millie's dangerous act of kindness sets them on paths they never could have expected, those closest to them become their greatest threats, and the consequences of compassion prove deadly...

A Dangerous Act of Kindness is a beautiful, harrowing love story, perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Santa Montefiore.




About The Author


LP Fergusson grew up on the borders of Wales in a Tudor house on the banks of the River Wye. As a child she longed to go back in history. Now she does, through her writing. She has an MA in Creative Writing from Oxford Brookes University and won the Blackwell's Prize for MA Creative Writing. Her stories have made a number of shortlists for competitions run by the Orwell Society, Oxfordshire Libraries and Flash500. Her psychological thriller reached the final three of a Quercus/Psychologies Thriller competition and her wartime novel A Dangerous Act of Kindness was Highly Commended in the Caledonia Novel Award 2018. She edits the historical blog With Love from Graz which was featured on BBC Radio Wales, Radio 2 and BBC4's A Very British Romance with Lucy Worsley. She now lives in an Oxfordshire village beneath the chalk downs where her debut novel is set.



My Review


Honestly, what can I even say about this book?! It's been a long, long time since I've read something that left me so emotionally impacted as A Dangerous Act of Kindness did...

When Millie Sanger finds injured German pilot Lukas Schiller in a barn on her farm, she makes a decision that is set to change both their lives: she helps him. Bringing him into her home to shelter from the snow, the two find themselves drawn to each other, and their relationship soon becomes romantic. But it isn't long until Lukas is compelled to leave, and the two find themselves under intense pressure. Forced to deny their relationship, they are torn apart by the reality of being from warring countries. But even though they are apart, their secret could still destroy everything they hold dear...

This is an incredibly powerful book that had me fully engrossed from the very start. I absolutely love historical fiction, and this is genuinely one of the best I've read. I felt as if I'd been plunged into rural  England in the 1940s, and the attention to detail was second to none. The skilful writing throughout had my heart sinking and my stomach dropping at close calls and the anguish both the main characters felt. 

This book features a host of very real, very credible characters. The dialogue, which I can often find a little on the unlikely side in historical fiction, genuinely felt like a group of neighbours talking and was highly engaging. While not every character was always likeable, they felt like real, authentic, fully-formed people, which I loved.

My favourite character actually ended up being Lukas himself. I thought the development of his character, particularly after he had left Millie, was really unique and such a fresh perspective. It made him a sympathetic character without crowbarring it in - it was a natural and smooth progression of thought that really added a huge amount to the overall plotline.

This entire narrative was fascinating, and I struggled throughout to work out where the plotline would go next. Every time I felt there was an obvious ending, it switched seamlessly and kept up the tension while remaining wholly plausible. This book also has without a doubt the most interesting 'Authors Note' I've read, so do make sure to check it out once you've finished!

I really can't tell you how deeply I fell in love with this novel. All I will say is that I got to the end and sobbed, partly just because the book was over. I really couldn't recommend this enough - the themes of guilt, betrayal, and loyalty are universal but they are played out here in the most poignant and bittersweet way. A definite five star read.

Be sure to check out the other blogs hosting A Dangerous Act of Kindness on this tour!


Huge thank you to Ellie at Canelo Publishing for providing me with this copy.

*I received this book in exchange for a review, all opinions are my own.
Share:

No comments

Post a Comment

© Adventure & Anxiety | All rights reserved.
Blogger Template Designed by pipdig